Rice University logo
 
Top blue bar image Department of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
 

Core Faculty

 
 
Bartel Bonnie Bartel
Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-5602
bartel@rice.edu
W300D George R. Brown Hall  
Beckingham Kathleen M. Beckingham
Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-4016
kate@rice.edu
W130 George R. Brown Hall
Bennett George N. Bennett
E. Dell Butcher Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-4920
gbennett@rice.edu
813 Biosci Res Collaborative
MatthewBennett Matthew Bennett
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-4161
matthew.bennett@rice.edu
306 Keck Hall
Braam Janet Braam
Department Chair and
Professor of Biochemistry 
& Cell Biology
713-348-4277
braam@rice.edu
W100C George R. Brown Hall
Carson Dan Carson
Dean of Natural Sciences and
Professor of Biochemistry 
& Cell Biology
713-348-3347
Daniel.D.Carson@rice.edu
E100E George R. Brown Hall
FarachCarson Cindy Farach-Carson
Vice Provost for Translational Bioscience and Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-5052
farachca@rice.edu
140E Biosci Res Collaborative
Gustin Michael C. Gustin
Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-5158
gustin@rice.edu
W200G George R. Brown Hall
Lwigale Peter Lwigale
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-6785
lwigale@rice.edu
339 Anderson Biological Labs
Matthews Kathleen S. Matthews
Stewart Memorial Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-4871
ksm@rice.edu
203 Keck Hall
McNew James A. McNew
Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-3133
mcnew@rice.edu
713 Biosci Res Collaborative
Nikonowicz Edward P. Nikonowicz
Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-4912
edn@rice.edu
313 Keck Hall
Olson John S. Olson
Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-4762
olson@rice.edu
309 Keck Hall
phillips2 George N. Phillips, Jr.
Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-6951
georgep@rice.edu
W200Q George R. Brown Hall
Shamoo Yousif Shamoo
Director of the Institute of Biosciences & Bioengineering and
Professor of Biochemistry 
& Cell Biology
713-348-5493
shamoo@rice.edu
332 Keck Hall
Silberg Jonathan Silberg
Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-3849
joff@rice.edu
209 Keck Hall
Stern Michael Stern
Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-5351
stern@rice.edu
715 Biosci Res Collaborative
Stewart Charles R. Stewart
Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-4926
crs@rice.edu
W104George R. Brown Hall
Tao Yizhi Jane Tao
Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-4910
ytao@rice.edu
326 Keck Hall
Wagner Daniel Wagner
Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-5933
dswagner@rice.edu
338 Anderson Biological Labs
Zhong Weiwei Zhong
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-2307
weiwei.zhong@rice.edu
W200P George R. Brown Hall





Joint Faculty

 
Oleg Igoshin
Associate Professor of Bioengineering and Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-5502
oleg.igoshin@rice.edu
767 BioScience Res Collaborative
Levine Herbert Levine
Professor of Bioengineering and Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-5869 
herbert.levine@rice.edu
Matsuda Seiichi P.T. Matsuda 
E. Dell Butcher Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-6158 
matsuda@rice.edu
W300E George R. Brown Hall
Kirstin Renee Matthews
Senior Baker Institute Fellow
713-348-4784
krwm@rice.edu
280 Baker Hall
McClendon George McLendon
Howard R. Hughes Provost and
Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology

713-348-4026
mclendon@rice.edu
411 Allen Center
Nakhleh Luay Nakhleh
Associate Professor of Computer Science and Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-3959
nakhleh@rice.edu
3119 Duncan Hall
Onuchic José Onuchic
Professor of Physics & Astronomy
and Biochemistry & Cell Biology

713-348-4197
jonuchic@rice.edu
Segatori Laura Segatori 
Assistant Professor of Chemical & 
Biomolecular Engineering and 

Biochemistry & Cell Biology

713-348-3536
segatori@rice.edu
B238 Abercrombie Lab
Tabor Jeffrey J. Tabor
Assistant Professor of Bioengineering and Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-8316
jeff.tabor@rice.edu
BRC, Suite 821
Wolynes Peter Wolynes
D.R. Bullard-Welch Foundation Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
713-348-4082
pwolynes@rice.edu
302 Anderson

Emeritus Faculty

 
Name Phone Email
(@rice.edu)
Office
Graham Palmer 713-348-4860   graham   W102 GRB Hall
Ronald J. Parry 713-348-2446   parry   E200D George R. Brown Hall

Faculty Fellows

 
Chehab Wassim Chehab
713-348-3013
ewchehab@rice.edu
W226 GRB Hall
Constantinou Pamela E. Constantinou Papadopoulos
713-348-5073
pamela.constantinou@rice.edu
E101 GRB Hall
Nikki Delk Nikki Delk
713-348-8751
nadelk@rice.edu
640 BRC
Daniel Harrington
713-348-8751
Daniel.A.Harrington@rice.edu
661 BRC
Dmitri Lapotko
713-348-3708
dl5@rice.edu
322 Anderson Biological Labs
GerdaSaxer Gerda Saxer
713-348-2220
gerda.saxer@rice.edu
335D Keck Hall

Faculty Lecturers

 
Beason Beth Beason Abmayr
Faculty Lecturer
713-348-2535

bbeason@rice.edu
326 Anderson Biological Labs
Caprette David R. Caprette
Professor in the Practice 

713-348-3498
caprette@rice.edu
327 Anderson Biological Labs
Eich Liz Eich
Faculty Lecturer
713-348-6144
lizmc@rice.edu
342 Anderson Biological Labs
Alma_web Alma Novotny
Faculty Lecturer
713-348-4015

novotnya@rice.edu
344 Anderson Biological Labs
Phillips Dereth Phillips
Faculty Lecturer
713-348-2343

derethp@rice.edu
340 Anderson Biological Labs
PURUGGANAN_Mary_100 Mary Purugganan
Faculty Lecturer
713-348-6128

maryp@rice.edu
341 Anderson Biological Labs

Adjunct Faculty

 
Richard Behringer, Baylor College of Medicine
Eshel Ben-Jacob, Tel Aviv University
Sarah Bondos, Texas A & M University Health Science Center
Richard G. Brennan, Duke University School of Medicine
Richard A. Dixon, Noble Foundation
Daniel Feeback, NASA
Robert O. Fox, University of Houston
Richard H. Gomer, Texas A & M University
Vincent Hilser, Johns Hopkins University
Kendal Hirschi, Baylor College of Medicine
Olivier Lichtarge, Baylor College of Medicine
Jianpeng Ma, Baylor College of Medicine
Kevin R. MacKenzie, University of Houston
Jordan S. Orange, Baylor College of Medicine
Timothy Palzkill, Baylor College of Medicine
Debananda Pati, Baylor College of Medicine
Neal Pellis, NASA
Florante Quiocho, Baylor College of Medicine
Susan Rosenberg, Baylor College of Medicine
Clarence Sams, NASA
Shelley Sazer, Baylor College of Medicine
Yigong Shi, Tsinghua University School of Medicine
Ah-Lim Tsai, University of Texas Health Science Center
Theodore G. Wensel, Baylor College of Medicine
Peggy Whitson, NASA
Huda Zoghbi, Baylor College of Medicine